Monday, December 15, 2014

Day 1 with Carol Burnside


 Good morning everyone. I have another two part blog for you. So take a break from all the hussel and bussel and meet my next author.
 My questions are in red and her answers are in black.

1) Can you please introduce yourself to everyone.




Sure. I’m Carol Burnside, author of  “sizzling romance with heart and humor.”
Here’s an official bio:
Carol is an award-winning author of Sweetwater Springs, a series of contemporary, small town romances with serious sizzle and a generous dose of southern charm. She enjoys a second-chance-at-love story with her husband of over thirty years. A native Texan, Carol's love of travel coupled with a history of living in her share of small towns and metropolitan areas gives her a broad range of settings to choose from. She admits that as long as she has her hubby and dogs with her and a generous supply of sweetened tea, she can make her home almost anywhere.

Writing as Annie Rayburn, she produces alternate reality, soft sci-fi and lite paranormal erotic romances.

Carol blogs on her website at www.CarolBurnside.com. Connect with her via Facebook / Newsletter / Goodreads / Twitter / Pinterest and learn more about her books, their reviews and read full chapters at http://CarolBurnside.com/books-books-books.

2) Would you like to share any work you have done or are doing?  

Here’s her backlist in order of release date:
Seasons and Seashells (anthology with my story “Do Over”)
Home for Christmas  (a FREE short story and sampler)
Sweetwater Springs series:
     A Suitable Wife (novel)
     Her Unexpected Family (novel)
Heart 2 Heart (a short story collection)
Sunset Beach Sizzle (novella)

and my latest release:
Nobody’s Baby (novel)  


She was the incubator,
nothing more
until the parents died tragically.
Now she’s having Nobody’s Baby.

For Kate Morissey, becoming a surrogate seems like a great way to refill her tuition account and get the education she’s always wanted. After putting her life on hold to raise and educate her two brothers, she’s desperate for freedom and a college degree that will secure her future. Weeks away from realizing her dreams, a freak accident threatens everything.

Adopted as a boy into the safety of the Hawthorne family, Rio swore he'd never become a father. He won’t pass along his cruel legacy of abuse. When he inherits the last Hawthorne heir, obligation and duty dictates he abandon the challenges of guiding safari’s and become a parent. Convincing Kate to teach him infant care was the easy part. Proving his love isn’t her prison may be the hardest thing he’s ever done.

Seasons and Seashells

A Sweet Romance Anthology
with Love Stories for Every Season.
Seasons change, signaling life’s beginnings and endings. There are as many interpretations of the passage of time and the meaning of love as there are seashells on a sandy beach. InSeasons and Seashells, members of the Petit Fours and Hot Tamales blog have chronicled seven of them. A story for each day of the week!
Fall in love all over again with Seasons and Seashells, which contains romantic stories from:
Anthology AuthorsCover art for Seasons and Seashells anthology
Carol Burnside: “Do Over”
Tami Brothers: “Babbet’s New Beginning”
Marilyn Baron: “The Fifth Season”
Lindy Chaffin Start: “Gillians Letter to Paul”
Linsey Lanier: “A Clever Season”
Pam Asberry: “Last First Date”
Maxine Davis: “Sweet Revenge”

A Suitable Wife excerpt

CarolBurnside_ASuitableWife_300-MedA Suitable Wife               

by Carol Burnside
Contemporary Romance, Sensual
Release date: 1.22.2014
Novel length, e-book
This book is the first in the Sweetwater Springs series of stand-alone books.  
Sam Moreland is desperate to keep his daughter out of the clutches of her abusive mother seeking custody. He resists legal advice to provide the court with a complete family unit because past relationships have soured him on love. 
Though she yearns for children, Rosie Baxter knows a failed pregnancy has likely left her barren. She remains single rather than bring her problems into a marriage and concentrates on her business with its financial woes. 
A temporary marriage pact means Rosie provides Sam with the illusion of family in return for an influx of cash into her store. But kisses for show become all too real. When outside threats shake their growing bond, each must trust the other with their darkest secret or lose their best chance for love and happiness. 
Fans of Marie Ferrarella, Tanya Michaels, Leanne Banks and Susan Mallery will enjoy this series, which contains sensual, contemporary romance against a backdrop of family and community in the small town of Sweetwater Springs, Arkansas. 
Also in the series:Book 2: Her Unexpected Family (Claire and Travis), February, 2014Book 3: His Small Town Princess (J.T. and Cass), Late Spring, 2014Other titles are planned for this series. 
- - -
Nobody’s Baby has a Christmas holiday ending.

Excerpt is on my website here: http://wp.me/P1e7XX-1bl

- buy links



3) Do you have a favorite genre?

My go-to read is contemporary romance, whether it has an alternate reality/history like my Annie Rayburn/Crainesian books or just realistic people in today’s world struggling to find true love and happiness.

4) Did you always want to write or what inspired you to do it? 

I can’t say that I’d always yearned to writeHowever, I can’t remember a time when I didn’t have imaginary characters in my head. I’d be cooking or doing mundane chores and their voices would come to me, they’d argue and make up and I’d dream up their backstories before I even knew to call it that.
I fueled that imagination with reading, reading and more reading. Book reports in school weren’t a chore. Later, as a grownup, when life pushed out a lot of my reading time, I took to writing Christmas letters to tuck into the cards. Some even had themes for the year and it was a challenge to edit/pare down the information into one single-spaced page. (Training for synopses!)
Hubby was in awe at the things I’d find to talk about in those holiday letters, gleaned from our very normal lives. He said I had a “knack” for that sort of thing. Then my day job reinforced that as my bosses dictated less and began trusting me to get the “intent” of their message across in my own words.

Then Hubby’s job took us to Hawaii and I had a chance to take time off from work. Writing and cooking were the two things I wanted to explore. I became a pretty darn good home chef and studied the craft of writing, selling my first short story within my first year of writing. I was hooked from that moment on!

Now the fun questions:
      
1) Do you like pizza or salad?

Both. I especially like salad because it’s yummy and keeps me from eating too much pizza. LOL!

2) What do you like more, cake or fruit? 

Oh, dear. I’m afraid the answer is cake.

3) What is your favorite kind of music?

This just isn’t fair of you. One favorite? That’s like asking me to choose which relative I like best or which food. Oh, wait. That would be bacon. But music? My tastes are eclectic and run the gamut from Moonlight Sonata to Maroon 5, from James Taylor to Taylor Swift with a little *whatever* thrown in. That *whatever* might be Rod Stewart, Pink, Elvis, Beyoncé, Pink Floyd, The Doors, Pentatonix or… Oops, got carried away.

4) Who is your favorite Author? 

I never answer this question because it depends on what I’ve been reading.

5) Do you like Vampire, Werewolf, Fairy or shifter men when you read for pleasure?

Um…none of the above, usually. The occasional alien, maybe, but I like my heroes hot and mostly human. You notice I said “mostly” to accommodate my Annie Rayburn heroes, humanoid aliens and very sexy!

6) Do you have pets?

Yes. Three dogs: a Llewellyn English Setter, a Pudelpointer and a Cockalier. They’re all spoiled rotten and firmly believe Hubby and I exist to fulfill their wishes. There are days, I think that might be true.

How great was that? Are you dying for part two? Well it will be here tomorrow. I hope you come back for more teasers and more about our AWESOME author Carol Burnside. I hope you have a great day/ night I am E.J Babcock see you next blog.


2 comments:

  1. Thanks for the opportunity to be a guest on your blog. The interview was fun!

    ReplyDelete